2017 Virginia Regional
Superintendents of the Year

VASS honored the 2017 Regional Superintendents of the Year at the 2016 VASS Spring Conference in Roanoke in early May.
The Virginia Superintendent of the Year Selection Committee included the State Superintendent for Public Instruction and the Presidents of the: Virginia Education Association; Virginia Parent and Teacher Association; Virginia Association of School Superintendents; Virginia School Boards Association; Virginia Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development; Virginia Association of Elementary School Principals; and Virginia Association of Secondary School Principals. Dr. James Lane, the superintendent of Goochland County Schools, was selected as the state winner from eight regional Superintendents of the Year who were chosen from the entire field of 133 superintendents in the state.  
Congratulations to Dr. Lane and the regional winners!
Region I
James Lane

Division Superintendent

Goochland County Schools


Region II


Deran Whitney

Division Superintendent

Suffolk City Schools



Region III
Thomas Taylor

Division Superintendent

Middlesex County Schools



Region IV
Steven Walts
Division Superintendent

Prince William County Schools



Region V
Gena Keller

Division Superintendent

Fluvanna County Schools



Region VI

Thomas Long
Division Superintendent
Covington City Schools



Region VII


Michael Robinson
Division Superintendent

Smyth County Schools


Region VIII


David Smith
Division Superintendent
Prince Edward County Schools