VASS Blueprint Revision Committees

The VASS Blueprint Revision Committees will be meeting virtually between June 15 and August 1, 2014, to revise the original goals and strategies in the five focus areas of the VASS Blueprint for the Future of Public Education in Virginia.

All Virginia Superintendents are encouraged to become actively involved in this revision process by reviewing the current VASS Blueprint document and contributing their comments and/or suggested revisions.

Please contact Liza Scallet, VASS Administrative Assistant, for a link to an online draft of the Blueprint. The draft is preceded by instructions for viewing and commenting on any or all of its five focus areas. You are asked to contribute any comments or suggested revisions on any of the five focus areas by Friday, July 11, 2014.

If you would like to participate more actively in the work of a particular virtual committee, please contact the CHAIR of that committee by clicking on HER/HIS NAME below.

A draft of the Revised VASS Blueprint will be discussed at the meeting of the VASS Board of Directors on August 6, and a final “VASS Blueprint.2” will be available for distribution by September 1, 2014.

Curriculum / Readiness Committee

Thomas Taylor Chair (Region 3) Middlesex County
Amy Griffin Co-Chair (Region 8) Cumberland County
Ashby Kilgore Region 2 Rep Newport News City
Scott Burckbuchler Region 3 Rep Essex County
Will Crawford Region 5 Rep Highland County
Andy Stamp VASS Staff  
Aaron Spence Region 2 Rep  Virginia Beach City

Assessment Committee

Michaelene  Meyer Chair (Region 7) Tazewell County
Bobbi Johnson Co-Chair (Region 4) Culpeper County
John Fahey Region 1 Rep Hopewell County
Toni Jones Region 4 Rep Falls Church City
Doug Schuch Region 5 Rep Bedford County
Pam Heath Region 6 Rep Martinsville City
Sarah Campbell Region 6 Rep Alleghany County
Jared Cotton Region 6 Rep Henry County

Instructional Design Committee

Gena Keller Chair (Region 5) Fluvanna County
Andrea Whitmarsh Co-Chair (Region 5) Greene County
Kathleen Beane Region 3 Rep Colonial Beach Town
Mike Murphy Region 4 Rep Clarke County
Ben Kiser VASS Staff

Human Capital Committee

James Greg Smith Chair (Region 3) Richmond County
Rebecca Gates Co-Chair (Region 3) Northumberland Co
Cathy Magouyrk Region 4 Rep Manassas City
Ed Hatrick Region 4 Rep (retired) Loudon County
Tony Brads Region 6 Rep Botetourt County
Rita Bishop Region 6 Rep  Roanoke City

State's Role in Funding Public Education Committee

Bobby Johnson Chair (Region 5) Campbell County
Bobby Browder Co-Chair (Region 1) Prince George
Thomas Taylor Co-Chair (Region 3) Middlesex County
Dave Clark Region 1 Rep Dinwiddie County
Jim Roberts Region 2 Rep Chesapeake City
Stan Jones Region 3 Rep King and Queen County
Dianne Pollard Region 3 (Chesapeake Bay Governor's School) Northumberland
Tom Smith VASS Staff

Virginia Association of School Superintendents
P.O. Box 68, Batesville, VA 22924 | (804) 562-4430 | Copyright © 2019