Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

768px Seal of Virginia

Commonwealth of Virginia
Office of Governor Ralph S. Northam
Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments



Governor Ralph Northam Announced Additional Appointments to his Administration Today

Board of Dentistry

  • Dagoberto Zapatero of Virginia Beach, Dentist, Starfish Dental

Board of Education

  • Dr. Stewart D. Roberson of Richmond, President, Moseley Architects and former Superintendent of Schools, Falls Church City Public Schools and Hanover County Public Schools
  • Anthony Swann of Vinton, Teacher, Franklin County Public Schools and 2021 Virginia Teacher of the Year

Board of Juvenile Justice

  • The Honorable Anita James Price of Roanoke, former Councilmember and Vice Mayor, City of Roanoke and Retired Educator, Roanoke City Public Schools

Board of Social Services

  • Megan Miloser of Warrenton, Director of Children’s Education, Warrenton United Methodist Church

Board of Trustees for the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia

  • Iris Park of Roanoke, Marketing Director, Miss You Flowers

Norfolk State University Board of Visitors

  • Dr. Terri L. Best of Newport News, Member, Newport News School Board

State Historical Records Advisory Board

  • Bernadette Battle* of Emporia, Associate Dean of Advising Services, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College
  • Heather Bollinger of Aldie, Historic Records Manager, Fairfax Circuit Court
  • Kim Curtis of Albemarle, Researcher, Project on Lived Theology, Department of Religious Studies, University of Virginia
  • Katherine Egner Gruber* of Williamsburg, Curator, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation
  • Zachary Hottel of Woodstock, Archivist, Shenandoah County Library
  • Josh Howard of Staunton, Public Historian, Passel Historical Consultants and Collections and Technology Manager, Jefferson-Madison Regional Library
  • Sara Townsend of Fredericksburg, PhD Student, George Mason University

Task Force for the Identification of the History of Formerly Enslaved African Americans in Virginia

  • Makola M. Abdullah, PhD of Petersburg, President, Virginia State University
  • The Honorable Nelson Harris of Roanoke, Pastor, Heights Community Church
  • Khadijah O. Miller, PhD of Chesapeake, Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies and Interim Dean, Robert C. Nusbaum Honors College, Norfolk State University
  • Jalane Schmidt of Charlottesville, Professor, Department of Religious Studies, University of Virginia
  • Cainan D. Townsend* of Farmville, Director of Education and Outreach, Robert Russa Moton Museum

University of Mary Washington Board of Visitors

  • Princess R.  Moss of Alexandria, Elementary Music Teacher, Louisa County Public Schools and Vice President, National Education Association

Veterans Services Foundation

  • Lettie J. Bien of Charlottesville, Retired Colonel, United States Army and Defense Affairs Program Manager, Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • Paula Buckley of Richmond, Director of Outreach and Public Affairs, GReat Aspirations Scholarship Program, Inc. (GRASP)
  • Phillip Jones of Newport News, Consultant, Bain & Company

Virginia African American Advisory Board

  • Eldon Burton of Richmond, Director of Government Relations, Virginia State University

Virginia Lottery Board

  • Scott Price* of Alexandria, Regional Policy Director, Dominion Energy

*denotes reappointment


View Full Release

Virginia Association of School Superintendents
P.O. Box 68, Batesville, VA 22924 | (804) 562-4430 | Copyright © 2019